Learning can be very different

TLL Observation Paper in Teaching Assistant Program

It has been many years that people still debate the effectiveness of new technology in language learning activities. According to Davies & Hewer, the teachers got it very difficult to measure it because it doesn’t have specific measurement. However, ICT, as a kind of new technology really affects the language learning activities. According to Davies & Hewer, the teachers got it very difficult to measure it because it doesn’t have specific measurement. However, ICT, as a kind of new technology really affects the language learning practitioners either teachers or students. For example, with ICT language teachers can find many resources only in few seconds. While the students themselves can imporve their skills by browsing many materials and courses (often for free).

Then, I wanted to observe to the ICT usage in senior high school. I have just done my teaching assistant program. It is such another interesting experience I think, because I got so many new things in this program. I was placed in St.Theresia High School this time, and at glancei thought that this school would be very high-tech. but then the technology usage in this school was not as high as I predicted before. In the class there were text books, whiteboard, chalkboard and LCD provided. However, based on my observation, the language teacher only used whiteboard, chalkboard and books. Every day she prefers only taking examples from books to internet (especially web 2.0 like google, youtube etc). She wants to make students able to do written test, so she gives the students many written test worksheets. From my interview with a student, he said that the teacher inly uses the LCD when they must do the presentation task (Microsoft Powerpoint software). The rest, students do worksheet and worksheet.

If I talk about the effectiveness of the teacher’s less usage of digital technology, I think it’s already effective. It is because the examination form is the written test. So the teacher makes efforts, in order to make students able to do exam well. Even though the learning process is not contextual, the final result is students get success in exam. To be honest, I still get confused if I were in her position. I don’t know the real condition that she faces, but I still don’t want to give up from the worst condition. At least, I have a plan from now. If I were her, I would still encourage them to use the digital media, especially web 2.0 including social network like Facebook or Twitter. Why would I do it? Because with these tools students will be able to learn more contextual, so they will know how to use the language features more quickly. Of course the portion of written test exercise will be more, but I’ll give “extra” tasks to browse and utilize the web 2.0 technology. I don’t mean to burden them with more assignments but I want them to be “out of the box”. I hope I can actualize my plan and create new methods perhaps.

Leave a comment